Skip to main content

Robert Adamson

Robert Adamson has published fifteen collections of poetry, most recently a new and selected called Mulberry Leaves (Bloodaxe Books, 2002), and three collections of autobiographical fiction, including Inside Out (2004), in which he recounts growing up in 1950s and ’60s Australia. He is the recipient of the 2007 C. J. Dennis Prize for Poetry-Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, the 2002 Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry-New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards, and the 1994 F.A.W. Christopher Brennan Award for lifetime achievement in poetry.



Summer 2011 | Poetry

They stitched their lives into the days,
Hawkesbury fishermen, with a smoke
stuck to their bottom-lips, bent