VQR congratulates the 2022 Winners


The Emily Clark Balch Prizes and the Staige D. Blackford Prize were created to honor the best writing to appear in the pages of VQR each year. Past recipients include John Berryman, Philip Caputo, Pauline W. Chen, Carolyn Forché, Natasha Trethewey, and Kevin Young. The VQR Prize for Photography was created to recognize the best photo portfolio to appear in our pages. Each prize includes a monetary award of $1,000.


Emily Clark Balch Prize for Fiction
Karen Palmer
Birds of Paradise

Emily Clark Balch Prize for Poetry
Martín Espada
Award Ceremony Nightmare With Swedish Meatballs
Big Bird Died for Your Sins
Look at This
Love Song of the Disembodied Head in a Jar

Staige D. Blackford Prize for Nonfiction
Ed Pavlić
At the Mercy of the Light

The VQR Prize for Photography
Jenna Garrett
This Holy Hill

Share —
Published: February 27, 2023