Skip to main content

Ben Marcus

Ben Marcus is the the author of several books, including The Age of Wire and String (Granta, 2013) and The Flame Alphabet (Knopf, 2012). His latest book, Notes from the Fog (Knopf, 2018), is forthcoming. His work has appeared in Granta, Harper’s, the New Yorker, the Paris Review, and Tin House, among other publications.


Illustration by Anders Nilsen

The Boys

Summer 2018 | Fiction

It happens. A close relative dies. One who lives elsewhere. And then some time has to be set aside, even if no such thing is possible. Because of work, because of a lack of funds when it comes to traveling.