Skip to main content

Erin Belieu

Erin Belieu is the author of two collections of poetry, Infanta (Copper Canyon, 1995), selected by Hayden Carruth for the National Poetry Series and named one of the ten best books of 1995 by Library Journal, the National Book Critics Circle, and Washington Post Book World; and One Above and One Below (Copper Canyon, 2000), winner of the Ohioana Award and the Society of Midland Authors Award.


Of the Poet’s Youth

Summer 2005 | Poetry

When the man behind the counter said, “You pay by the orifice,” what could we do but purchase them all? Ah, Sandy, you were unquestionably the deluxe model, modish and pert in your plastic nurse whites, official hostess to our halcyon days, [...]

The Last of the Gentlemen Heartbreakers

Summer 2005 | Poetry

—for C.B. Southern romantic that you always were, what fallacy recalls you better than the pathetic one? If lightning fried a single swampy pine anywhere south of Cincinnati, you were gassing up the bagpipe and drinking to your fallen co [...]