Skip to main content

Marlon James

Marlon James was born in Jamaica in 1970. His most recent novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings (Riverhead, 2014), was the winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize, the American Book Award, and the Anisfield-Wolf Book Prize for fiction. He is also the author of the novels John Crow’s Devil (Akashic, 2005) and The Book of Night Women (Riverhead, 2009). 



Photographs by Tim Gruber

Marlon James’s Notes to Self

Spring 2018 | Articles

One big expectation of the murder mystery is that the payoff includes some answers, that eventually we learn the truth. The best payoffs are layered, too, so that the revelations include not just who did the deed but how and why—what the motive was, offering a bit of insight into our own natures.