Skip to main content

Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie’s novels include Midnight’s Children, Shame, The Satanic Verses, Haroun and the Sea of Stories, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, Fury, and Shalimar the Clown. He has won the Booker Prize, the “Booker of Bookers,” the Whitbread Prize, the Writer’s Guild Award, the Aristeion Prize, and major literary awards in Germany, France, Italy, Austria, and Hungary. He was also a founder and first President of the International Parliament of Writers.


The Emperor’s Deathbed: An Exchange

Kapuścińskito Symposium Introduction Jerzy Nowak Breyten Breytenbach Werner Herzog Salman Rushdie & Lawrence Weschler Daniel Alarcón Weschler: Ryszard Kapuściński was a master at jousting with the censors, perhaps [...]

The Ministry of False Alarms

Fall 2004 | Essays

In post-9/11 America there has come to be what I think of as the Ministry of False Alarms. The Ministry of False Alarms constantly raises the level of fear inside the United States. I’m not sure what these various rainbow-colored alerts are supposed to do: How does one react when the alert goes from yellow to orange? What does one do to deal with orange danger that one would not do in dealing with yellow danger? How do you relax when the level drops? The only purpose of these alerts is to scare people.