Skip to main content

Lydia Davis

Lydia Davis is the author of one novel, many collections of stories, including Can’t and Won’t (FSG, 2014), The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis (FSG, 2009), and Varieties of Disturbance (FSG, 2007), which was a finalist for the National Book Award. She has won awards for her translations of works from the French, among them Flaubert’s Madame Bovary (Viking 2010) and Proust’s Swann’s Way (Penguin, 2003). In 2013 she received the Award of Merit Medal in Literature for the short story from the American Academy of Art and Letters and the Man Booker International Prize.


Illustration by Kristen Radtke

Four Stories

Winter 2017 | Fiction

In a Hotel Room in Ithaca

April, the housekeeper,

has left a message for me

handwritten in red ink on a piece of paper.

It is lying next to the coffeemaker.