Skip to main content

Spring 1934

Spring 1934

Volume 10, Number 2

  • Donald Davidson’s “The Sacred Harp in the Land of Eden”
  • Calvin B. Hoover’s “Dictators and Democracies”
  • Helen Hill’s “Roosevelt’s New Party”
  • Sean O’Faolain’s “Plea for a New Type of Novel”
  • Stories by Donald Davidson, Calvin B. Hoover, Helen Hill, and Sean O’Faolain
  • Poetry by T. S. Eliot, Lawrence Lee, and Conrad Aiken
[toc] Table of Contents
Spring 1934

Table of Contents

The Sacred Harp in the Land of Eden

In the plantation country of Middle Georgia is a land which ought to be, but is not, called Eden. Whatever one may argue about the phantasmic impositions of automobile and radio upon appearances, here there is little change in the essence of things a [...]


Author Profiles

T. S. Eliot authored dozens of books of criticism and poetry, most famously Prufrock, and Other Observations (1917), The Waste Land (1922), and Four Quartets (1943). He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1948.

Conrad Aiken (1869-1973) was born in Savannah, Georgia.  He received the 1954 National Book Award in poetry for Collected Poems (Oxford University Press) and served as Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress from 1950 to 1952.